yamlong

There’s not a lot to say about yams. They’re healthy. They’re versatile. You can boil them, fry them, make pie with them. They taste great salty or sweet. You can even eat them with marshmallows. What’s not to love about yams?

I have an obsession with potatoes–particularly fries. If I had my way, I would eat fries every day. Especially the ones at McDonalds. You may beg to differ, but as far as french fries go you can’t get much better than Mickey Dee’s. A cone of Belgian frites comes in a close second. Lately though, I’ve been quite taken with the yam fries that have popped up on restaurant menus everywhere. The combination of the sweet, mealy interior contrasted against a crispy exterior and dipped in a tangy aioli is downright addictive.

I’ve been making these yam frites in the oven whenever I have a hankering for those restaurant style ones. I can plow through a whole bowl of them and still feel virtuous. There isn’t really a recipe. You just cut up a yam, toss it with a teaspoon of olive oil and some salt, and bake at 400F until crispy and golden on the outside. I’ve been cutting mine thinly, which makes some of  them come out soft. For a sturdier fry, cut the yam into large strips.  yamfrites

Lemon Pepper Aioli

6 tablespoons mayonnaise

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1/8 teaspoon pepper

salt to taste

Add all ingredients to a small bowl and mix thoroughly with a fork. Great with fries, fish, steamed vegetables, or on roasted asparagus.

 

yamaioli

