Rosso Bruno Tomatoes

Rosso Bruno Tomatoes

Yesterday I was at my local produce store when I spotted the tomatoes in a row of tables that lined the sidewalk.  I was immediately mesmerized.  These were unlike any tomatoes I had ever seen–at this shop or any other.  In fact, I wasn’t even sure of what I was looking at until I spotted the small sign above them. Rosso Bruno Tomatoes

Their skins looked like they had been burnished in bronze and when I touched them their heavy plumpness cried out for me to eat them.  I reached for a plastic bag.  I had found my lunch.

Of course, it’s winter now, and tomatoes are out of season. I try to eat seasonally as much as possible.  I find that fruits and vegetables don’t taste that great otherwise.  Tomatoes in particular lack flavor when eaten in the winter months.  Blindfolded, I doubt I would be able to tell the difference between a February tomato and a cucumber.

However, when I got these Rosso Brunos home, I wasn’t disappointed.  As I bit into one, its succulent tomato goodness exploded in my mouth.  And onto my shirt.  Why am I always wearing white when I meet a juicy tomato?

These unique tomatoes need very little embellishment, if at all.  I drizzled mine with olive oil, seasoned it with sea salt and freshly ground pepper, and topped it off with a dollop of homemade mayonnaise.  Tomatoes and mayonnaise go together like PB&J.  Don’t forget this when you make your next sandwich!

tomato

